The Collaborative Writer Forum For Aspiring and Published Writers

Your earliest writing experiences...

in Your previous experiences with writing... Wed Mar 30, 2011 11:44 pm
by collaborative writer

What were your earliest experiences with writing like? Do you remember getting attention, approval, being told "not to quit your day job"?

Scroll up

RE: Your earliest writing experiences...

in Your previous experiences with writing... Sun Jul 17, 2011 3:59 pm
by Capucine • 14 Posts

My first experience of writing was a disaster. I was 10 years old and was sufficiently paralyzed by the criticism to refuse to put pen to paper for the next ten years, no matter what the punishment or consequences. I learned to write precise, clear orders to my subordinates in my role as a senior financial executive. Literary ability was not a requirement, if one could manage the money efficiently. Since my retirement eight years ago I have been writing short articles on subjects that I have some knowledge of, but I still have a reluctance to share this output. I need to find out just how bad they are.

Capucine

Scroll up

in Your previous experiences with writing... Thu Jul 21, 2011 3:49 pm
by collaborativewriter • 85 Posts

I have read what you've written with a fascination that is hard to explain until you get a chance to know why I started this forum and why your experience is so important to me... I want everyone who wants to write to feel like they can. I would respond, as an educator and as someone who wants to change the way people think about writing and writers, that I want you to find just how important it is that you allow yourself to write; not that you find out how "bad" (or even how 'good') your writing is. The first step is not to find out the 'worth' of one's writing output from someone else's perspective.... The first step is to let one's self write. :-)