The Collaborative Writer Forum For Aspiring and Published Writers

Astrology: For the Fear Full or the Fear Less?

in Share your writing with readers Fri Jul 01, 2011 10:44 pm
by Miranda • 7 Posts

"If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it's not your path... Your own path you make with every step you take. That's why it's your path." — Joseph Campbell

I've been a student of astrology since I was 13. It's not been a linear path nor a hobby that has consumed me. It found me as a teenager, but we never lost contact. We've been like childhood sweethearts that run into each other periodically over the course of one's life. Yet, once I turned 40, with some life experience under my belt, I realized we were meant to be together and it's been an intense love affair ever since. I've learned a lot about myself in the process. My light side, my gifts, my purposes (yes, we can have more than one!), and most of all, my shadow. My dark side, that part of me that gets torqued when the line at Starbucks is too long or thinks a proactive "thinning of the herd" of the planet would surely garner me a better parking spot at the mall, and is therefore a justifiable evolutionary tactic, is what I've really come to know well... Oh yes. I am "more human than human." And most people aren't crazy about admitting to being that human. Which is why, at the age of 43, I'm finally a practitioner of astrology. I ease people into the unknown and show them that astrology is not a full body contact sport where the threat of blood will keep you benched and wondering. When you face the all of your self, the world becomes a more agile path. Astrology has been part of my path. It's that one place I can go to for options. Yet, as a practitioner, it can be a very solitary path with few people to talk to. It can make you feel like the sole runner in the last mile of a marathon. Because, borrowing from another self invested seeker, I know this for sure...